In short: How each machine or network moves from funding to access for users. Filter by country, area or stage; the milestone legend is folded. Filter the records
How European quantum computers, communication networks, testbeds and pilot lines move from announcement and funding to procurement, delivery, operation and access for users. Each milestone names its source; technical status and user access are shown apart, because an inauguration or a contract does not prove that outside users can apply.
Milestone history of a pilot selection of European quantum infrastructure (#434), compiled on the date shown from official programme, host and project pages. Summaries are in our own words; each names its source and where in it the fact appears. Not confirmed by the providers, not live capacity or booking information. A stated target is a forecast; a passed target without later evidence is shown as such, never as a failure or as operational. Owner-reviewed for demonstration, 28 October 2026.
Last source check: 28 October 2026. A pilot selection; other catalogue entries have no milestone history yet.
7 records: 1 programme or network, 6 projects, 0 systems or sites. Each is counted once, at its own level.
Legend: stages and kinds of evidence
How to read this page
Evidenced
The source reports the milestone as having happened, on the date shown or, when it gives none, as seen on the check date.
Forecast
A target the source states. It stays a forecast until later evidence is found; a passed target date is not a failure, and nothing becomes operational because a date passed.
Technical status
Whether the machine or network is planned, being procured, inaugurated or in operation, as its source states.
User access
Whether outside users can apply, through which route, with eligibility, cost and deadlines when the source names them; unknown stays unknown.
Linkage
Direct when the source names the system; manual when an earlier name (such as EuroQCS-Italy) is matched to the system by host, city or supplier.
Announced investment or programme envelope: over EUR 314 million, EU and Member State investment supporting the six quantum proposals retained in December 2025. Funded by: EU and the Member States; the split is not stated. Shared with other records or a wider programme; not the amount of this record. Manual linkage (Chips JU news of December 2025 on the quantum pilot lines (dated 11 December in its header, 12 December in its dateline), retrieved 2026-10-30; Sentence on the EU and national investment supporting six proposals). The news item does not name the six proposals; as in the tracker, the pilot lines are matched by number and topic only.
Announced investment or programme envelope: EUR 145 million, Expected funding of the action plans of the six consortia selected in April 2025, through specific grant agreements. Shared with other records or a wider programme; not the amount of this record. Manual linkage (Chips JU press release of 28 April 2025: Chips JU accelerates quantum innovation with the selection of six consortia, retrieved 2026-10-30; Sentence on the funding of the action plans and the aim of open-access pilot line production (public investment registry entry eu-chips-ju-quantum-consortia-2025)). Neither announcement names the consortia, and neither states how the April 2025 selection relates to the December 2025 decision: two separate statements, never added.Entry in the public investment registry
Amounts as each source states them; different layers and sources are never added.
Milestones of Chips JU quantum pilot lines
Date
Milestone
State
What the source says
Source
11 December 2025
Funded or agreement signed
Evidenced
The Chips JU Public Authorities Board retained six quantum proposals for funding, with more than EUR 314 million of EU and Member State investment, to develop quantum pilots. Manual linkage: The news item does not name the six proposals; the six pilot lines of the catalogue are matched by number and topic only.
Not open yet; access expected per the source. SMEs, start-ups, academia, research organisations and large companies are to get access through process design kits and pilot runs; no application route is named.
Route type: Fabrication service
Eligibility: SMEs, start-ups, academia, research organisations and large companies in Europe.
Listed as ongoing by the Chips JU under call HORIZON-JU-CHIPS-2025-QAC1-1-SGA, coordinated by VTT, with a total cost of about EUR 50 million; start and end dates are not given.
Project under way. Listed as ongoing by the Chips JU. Status as of 28 October 2026. (Chips JU project detail: P4Q, Project detail: status)
User access
Not open yet; access expected per the source. The project is to set up a governance structure ensuring open-access availability and to work with lead users, described as innovative EU-based start-ups; no application route is named.
Route type: Fabrication service
Eligibility: Lead users described as innovative EU-based start-ups; other eligibility not stated.
Project under way. Listed as ongoing by the Chips JU. Status as of 28 October 2026. (Chips JU project detail: DIREQT, Project detail: status)
User access
Not open yet; access expected per the source. Among its objectives the project names a sustainable, open-access framework and testing and experimentation facilities in the pilot lines; service providers and use-case companies are to be added during the project. No application route is named.
Project under way. Project under way, offering testing services through its open call. Status as of 23 October 2026. (Qu-Test open call, Open call page)
User access
Access route documented; whether it is open now is not stated. Free testing services for companies; the page text does not say whether a cut-off is open now (the timing is shown in an image).
Route type: Call or application for access, Testing service
Eligibility: Companies established and majority-owned in an EU Member State, Iceland, Norway or Israel, subject to a Commission ownership check.
Cost: Free: testing services are fully funded by the project.
Deadlines: not stated by the source
Assistance: A helpdesk named on the open call page.
Qu-Test (cordis:101113901), Quantum Flagship infrastructure projects (Horizon Europe): EUR 18,912,678.81, EU contribution (maximum grant agreed). Direct identifier match (Qu-Pilot and Qu-Test home page, retrieved 2026-10-28).
Milestones of Qu-Test
Date
Milestone
State
What the source says
Source
2023
Funded or agreement signed
Evidenced
Horizon Europe project coordinated by TNO, running 2023 to 2027: a federated, open-access network of quantum testbeds.
Project under way. Project under way, offering experimental production through its open call. Status as of 23 October 2026. (Qu-Pilot open call, Open call page)
User access
Access route documented; whether it is open now is not stated. Free experimental production for companies; the page text does not say whether a cut-off is open now.
Route type: Call or application for access, Fabrication service
Eligibility: Companies established and majority-owned in an EU Member State, Iceland, Norway or Israel, subject to a Commission ownership check.
Cost: Free: experimental production is fully funded by the project.
Deadlines: not stated by the source
Assistance: A helpdesk named on the open call page.
Horizon Europe project coordinated by VTT, running 2023 to 2026: experimental production on superconducting, photonic, semiconductor and diamond platforms.
The project page gives 2023 to 2026 as its duration; what follows after 2026 is not stated.
Review queue: claims to check
Claims an editor should check against their sources: a source that now says something else, a catalogue entry that disagrees with the milestone evidence, a passed target without confirmation and status statements older than six months. Nothing here changes a status by itself.
Before: Qu-Test ran from 1 April 2023 to 30 September 2026 (CORDIS, catalogue). Now: qu-test.eu redirects to qu-pilot.eu, whose footer gives Qu-Test and Qu-Pilot both from 1 April 2023 to 31 March 2027.